M4

Architecture photos series featuring the entire Metró Budapest network and Földalatti

Middle aisle of Szent Gellért tér station

M3

Architecture photos series featuring the entire Metró Budapest network and Földalatti

Escalator ride

M2

Architecture photos series featuring the entire Metró Budapest network and Földalatti

Train of M2 line at Deák Ferenc tér station

Annotations

Architecture photos series featuring the entire Metró Budapest network and Földalatti

Among the underground rails of Europe Budapest plays a special role as its origin is actually Germany. Berlin back then developed quickly and places like Potsdamer Platz square became the busiest spot in Europe. Logically infrastructure had to be brought into line with that high traffic density, hence quickly ideas to build a London-style underground arose. Actually Berlin should have got continental Europe’s first subway but design and constructional execution got blocked and thwarted by the same type of bourgeois and preservation of vested rights and property loving narrow-minded Berliners also bringing a gentrification disaster upon the city nowadays.

Visionary engineers Siemens & Halske looked for a wider field of putting their most important invention into operation, the electric motor as smoke involving coal-fired underground trains are no option. Siemens didn’t hesitate to think outside the box and got in touch with Austro-Hungary, a friend of Germany at that time, as they needed a transport solution for their world exhibition to open in 1896. Siemens built continental Europe’s first underground as well as first electric underground worldwide to start operations on time.

That very first electric underground in the world is yellow colour coded M1, the Földalatti line. Passengers can access it from side platforms whose entrances frame Budapest’s magnificent Andrássy út avenue. The subway is small as it got addressed to a passenger volume of the 19th century. Communist Hungary fortunately paid highest attention to preserving the original character of the Földalatti line when it got modernised in the 1970s. At that time the route got also extended northwards.

Photographing the Budapest Metro was difficult as due to local narrowness I couldn’t work with my usual prime lenses. All photos got shot with an ultra wide angle, what also means an aperture of f/4 and not usual f/1.4 what means a break to the way of what my subway images look like. All images got taken using a Canon EF 16-35mm f/4L IS USM. In case of Budapest’s M4 line I could use my beloved Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM Art again.

M1 – Földalatti

Architecture photos series featuring the entire Metró Budapest network and Földalatti

Földalatti train passing Vörösmarty utca

Warning: Illegal offset type in isset or empty in /var/www/vhosts/web337.c6.webspace-verkauf.de/html/3ubahn/wp-includes/pomo/translations.php on line 86

M4

Architekturfotoserie über das gesamte U-Bahn-Netz der Metró Budapest und Földalatti

Szent Gellért tér

M3

Architekturfotoserie über das gesamte U-Bahn-Netz der Metró Budapest und Földalatti

Ritt auf der Rolltreppe

M2

Architekturfotoserie über das gesamte U-Bahn-Netz der Metró Budapest und Földalatti

Zug der Linie M2 am Deák Ferenc tér

Anmerkungen

Architekturfotoserie über das gesamte U-Bahn-Netz der Metró Budapest und Földalatti

Unter den U-Bahnen Europas spielt Budapest eine besondere Rolle, deren Geschichte eigentlich in Deutschland beginnt. Das damalige Berlin entwickelte sich rasant. Der Potsdamer Platz z.B. war der zu dieser Zeit verkehrsreichste Ort Europas. Logischerweise musste sich die Infrastruktur diesem Verkehrsaufkommen anpassen, was die Idee einer Untergrundbahn nach Londoner Vorbild auf den Plan rief und so sollte eigentlich Berlin die erste U-Bahn Kontinentaleuropas erhalten. Planung und Ausführung aber wurden von den Berlinern durch elende Diskussionen ausgebremst. Genau jene eigentumsfixierten und besitzstandsfokussierten Kleingeister die Berlin heutzutage ein Gentrifizierungsdesaster bescheren, ließen damals die visionären Ingenieure Siemens & Halske nicht zum Zuge kommen.

Werner von Siemens suchte ein größeres Einsatzgebiet für seine Erfindung des Elektromotors, welcher zuvor nur in Straßenbahnen verbaut wurde. Siemens fackelte nicht lange und wandte sich von den Berliner Kleingeistern ab um in Budapest – zum damaligen befreundeten Österreich-Ungarn gehörend – seine Pläne zu realisieren. 1896 ging die als Unterpflasterbahn konzipierte erste Untergrundbahn Kontinentaleuropas und erste elektrische U-Bahn weltweit in Betrieb.

Genau jene Bahn ist die gelb gekennzeichnete Linie M1, die Földalatti. Den Zugang zur Bahn gewähren die Seitenbahnsteige deren Eingänge die prachtvolle Andrássy út Allee flankieren. Die Bahn ist klein und richtete sich an das damalige Passagieraufkommen, welches heute natürlich ein wenig höher ist. Das sozialistische Ungarn sanierte die Bahn in den 1970er Jahren und zollte dem Denkmalschutz glücklicherweise höchste Aufmerksamkeit. Die Linie wurde dabei gleichzeitig gen Norden erweitert.

Die Budapester Metro zu fotografieren war schwierig. Aufgrund örtlicher Enge konnte ich mit außer der Linie M4 nicht wie üblich mit einer Festbrennweite arbeiten sondern musste auf ein Ultraweitwinkel zurückgreifen, was auch Offenblende von f/4 und nicht wie sonst üblich f/1.4 bedeutet. Die Budapest-Fotos weisen daher (leider) einen gestalterischen Bruch zu den anderen U-Bahn-Fotos auf. Alle Fotos entstanden mit dem Canon EF 16-35mm f/4L IS USM. Im Fall der Budapester Metrolinie M4 konnte ich glücklicherweise wieder mein geliebtes Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM Art einsetzen.

M1 – Földalatti

Architekturfotoserie über das gesamte U-Bahn-Netz der Metró Budapest und Földalatti

Zugdurchfahrt einer Földalatti-Bahn

Subway Photo Calendar 2018
Pre-order your high quality Subway Photo Calendar for 2018


Warning: Illegal offset type in isset or empty in /var/www/vhosts/web337.c6.webspace-verkauf.de/html/3ubahn/wp-includes/pomo/translations.php on line 85